The Endemic Plants of Chile

Choose language / Elija su lenguaje

Español English



Atacama Region covers an area of ​​approximately 75,000 km2 (the fourth largest in Chile), and is divided into three provinces: Chañaral, Copiapó and Huasco. This Region has transverse mountain ranges that link the coastal mountains with the Andes and deep valleys that are formed by large rivers such as the Salado, Copiapó and Huasco. Of all the remarkable landscapes of the Atacama it is the famous flowering desert which is the most spectacular. At its best, in early-mid spring and when there is a combination of high rainfall and adequate temperatures, flamboyant species such as Cistanthe longiscapa, Zephyranthes bagnoldii and Zephyra elegans give a breath-taking display of colour. The Region is known for its unique cacti, especially species of the endemic genus Copiapoa, which prevail on the coast and are especially prominent in Llanos de Challe and Pan de Azúcar National Parks. In the Andes, Nevado de Tres Cruces National Park is one of the best examples of high Andean salt flats and includes part of the Salar de Maricunga.

Endemic Taxa in Atacama

Endemic taxa only occurring in Atacama