The Endemic Plants of Chile

Choose language / Elija su lenguaje

Español English



The Biobío Region is named after one of Chile's most famous rivers, the Biobío which at 350 km, is the country's second longest river. The Region represents the southern limit of Chile's central zone, with the city of Coronel being the geographic centre of Continental Chile. There are four classic landforms of central zone: the Andes range, the Intermediate Depression, the coastal mountain range and the coastal plains. The Andes are lower compared to the regions to the north with peaks about 3000 metres high. As with most regions, the vegetation in the Intermediate Depression and the Andean foothills has been heavily impacted by agricultural and forestry activities. Towards the south of the Region is the Nahuelbuta coastal mountain range which rises to 1500 meters; much of the native vegetation of this area has been replaced by commercial forest plantations. Mocha Island, which lies off the coast of the Arauco Province has areas of Valdivian temperate rainforests protected in a National Park, but without any Nothofagus species which are characteristic of this type of forest on the mainland.

Endemic Taxa in Biobío

Endemic taxa only occurring in Biobío