The Endemic Plants of Chile

Choose language / Elija su lenguaje

Español English


Los Lagos

Los Lagos Region comprises four provinces: Chiloé, Llanquihue, Osorno and Palena. It also includes Chile's second largest island, Chiloé, and the second largest lake, Llanquihue. Its capital, Puerto Montt lies on the shore of the Gulf of Reloncaví, and is often referred to as a frontier town. South of here there is no continuous road system across remote tracts of densely forested mountains which are interspersed with slow moving glaciers and an archipelago of intricate islands. The climate here contrasts markedly with the north, since it rains throughout the year, amounting to about 2,000 mm per annum, although during the summer months rainfall decreases somewhat. This level of rainfall feeds into large rivers such as the Maullín, Petrohué, Puelo and Yelcho and sustains the Valdivian rainforests, where one of Chile’s most famous trees grows - Fitzroya cupressoides, and the national flower of Chile – the climber, Lapageria rosea. Andes peaks that exceed 2,000 metres have glaciers, and several of the volcanoes are active, including Chaitén, Corcovado, Hornopirén and Osorno. South of Puerto Montt the sea of Chiloé is a submerged extension of the Intermediate Depression and geographically, the bulk of the islands, including Chiloé and Chonos, as well as the Taitao Peninsula, represent a continuation of the Coastal Mountain Range.

Endemic Taxa in Los Lagos

Endemic taxa only occurring in Los Lagos